Farewell, horde of useless material objects…

August 4, 2009 at 4:25 am Leave a comment

There’s a book or something that’s popular at my local library called “Throw Out 50 Things” or something like that. There’s a long waiting list, so I’ll probably never read it, but I think we can all gather from the title that it’s about motivating yourself to get rid of 50 things that are unnecessary, holding you back, or otherwise taking up wasted space (mentally or physically).

Considering that just today I just brought home six pop caps for a “project”, you can well imagine that I have an issue with… stuff. I have a lot of stuff. I like to collect things. When I was young, this meant:

  • unsharpened pencils
  • stickers, buttons, beads
  • cicada shells
  • rocks
  • sea shells
  • pogs
  • erasers
  • used band-aids (gross!)
  • paperclips

I’m sure there were more, but those are the ones that I can think of off the top of my head. Later in life I moved on to more sophisticated collections like:

  • state quarters
  • agates
  • used cds
  • lucky red pockets
  • napkins

And now that I’m so much older and wiser and oh-wow-my-age-adds-up-to-four, I have moved on to fewer, more useful collections like:

  • dice (for D&D)
  • mp3s (for my weekly radio show)
  • business cards (only nice ones)
  • cccasional Magic card
  • small metals bits that I find on the ground (like busted up iPod pieces and zipper pulls).

I think my biggest problem is that with the exception of the used band-aid collection (my mom made me throw that one out), I still have ALL these collections.

Tomorrow I move into a house – the first non-apartment since I lived with my parents before college! With all the packing and moving and oh-I-didn’t-use-you-in-six-months revelations, now is a good time to throw things out.

Wish me luck!

Entry filed under: Babble.

Sharp blades and paper Junk, begone! Round 1!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

