For the love of simple Hummus

May 20, 2009 at 2:07 am Leave a comment

After a brief adventure wherein I discovered our new apartment has no can opener, I managed to open my 16 oz. can of chickpeas. The mission?

Hummus!

If you’ve never had hummus, let me explain: Hummus dates back to ancient Egypt, is extremely delicious, easily modified, great for you health-wise, and simple to make! It can also be pretty expensive to purchase, so making it on your own is a double win. It can be enjoyed as a spread on sandwiches, used as a dip for crackers, eaten with pita bread… really, use it on whatever!

I started with this recipe I found on the internet:

* 1 16 oz can of chickpeas or garbanzo beans
* 1/4 cup liquid from can of chickpeas
* 3-5 tbs lemon juice (depending on taste)
* 1 1/2 tbs tahini
* 2 cloves garlic, crushed
* 1/2 tsp salt
* 2 tbs olive oil

Most recipes call for a food processor, but as I don’t have one, I used a blender. This will mean a little more effort on your part (scraping off the sides, pulsing, stirring, perhaps tipping the container) and a textured finish (your hummus will not be a smooth silky soup), but still works just fine.

I combined everything but the chickpeas and chickpea liquid, then added them in. I personally found the result to be a bit bland, so I added in more lemon juice, as well as some:

* garlic powder
* cumin
* cayenne pepper
* freshly ground black pepper

Tadaa! Delicious!

Home-made hummus!
Placed in a sealed container in the fridge, the internet tells me it should store well for about a week, and longer in the freezer. But after toasting up some pitas in the oven, I doubt it will last that long.

Entry filed under: Food.

Princess Maker 2 Kitchen labor, Slave to yum

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

