Doing the right thing

April 9, 2009 at 1:13 am 2 comments

Same-sex couple Lyons and Franklin exchange rings

In light of Iowa’s recent ruling on gay marriage, I just wanted to take the time to honor people like Iowa’s Governor Chet Culver, President Obama, and my roommate’s dad. They don’t believe in gay marriage, and they don’t agree with homosexuality. But despite this, they are putting aside what they believe for what they logically find, and what ultimately is, the right thing to do.

That takes a lot of strength.

I don’t agree with them. I know that sexuality is a spectrum that we have no control over, and to judge someone based on that is as ridiculous as judging someone on how fast their hair grows. I am honestly tempted to smack them up the head, because this seems painfully obvious.

But what if I didn’t know that? What if I really did think that people who’s hair grows really fast were inherently wrong, an abomination to the greatest power that I could put my faith in? I hope that I would have the same sense in mind to come to the same conclusion as people all over the country are, and putting my feelings aside for the greater good.

Lyons and Franklin display their CA Marriage Certificate

That said, congratulations to Vermont, the 4th state in the USA to legalize gay marriage! This progress has been long in coming, and it will take many more struggles and still more time. But I will accept nothing less than the full belief that equality and understanding will prevail in the end.

Entry filed under: Happenings.

Important Life Lessons: Toilet Paper Princess Maker 2

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Daphne  |  March 15, 2010 at 9:59 am

    It’s funny, because gay marriage here is SO normal, it’s a taboo to say you’re against it.

    Reply
    • 2. minglish  |  March 16, 2010 at 5:36 am

      Believe me, I cannot wait until that is the case here as well. It’s so frustrating!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

