05 Death and Tomatoes

June 25, 2008 at 1:31 am Leave a comment

May 30 – June 2, 2008

Drove to Michigan for a Memorial on the beach. Lake Michigan is… immense. It was like being beside the ocean, just without the salt and fewer critters (both dead and alive).

I am of the opinion that one can never have too many grandparents, and this is the second grandmother that has passed away before I was able to meet her. This makes me feel very unfortunate, and offers up a kind of aching regret, much like the feeling you get in your gums after hitting your teeth very hard. At least this time I was able to hear stories and pictures, personal accounts that can help me get a feel for the wonderful person I missed out on. When my great grandmother died (Seems like a long time ago. I was, hmm… very small.) I knew nothing about her, except that she had been halfway around the world, and now she was even farther. It seemed extremely unfair, and I cried lot (rather selfishly, as it never occurred to me to consider how my father must have felt).

Child

The photo above was taken right after the memorial. He’s planting a piece of grass that he just picked. It was cute, in a sad sort of way. I like to think of it as a tribute of sorts to his great grandmother.

And lastly, a comment on tomatoes. I may or may not have suffered from the effects of the recent infection of salmonella in fresh tomatoes, but either way, please be careful. I threw up three times, slept all day, and felt like crap.

Entry filed under: Happenings. Tags: , .

04 Weekend havoc, part 2 A New Beginning

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

